Dr. Jones: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the research process

As I am starting to prepare research statement, I was thinking why I started doing what I am doing. And I went way back, when I was a kid. I did not want to be a princess, way to boring.

image source: tumblr.com

I wanted to be an archeologist, going around the world, discovering new artefacts. Then, I got interested in film, since I was curious to know more about this mysterious power film can have on people. And in 2003, star war kids was seen on the internet. So I got interested in this smaller screen. And did a master on how short film can be distributed on the web. By then, I was hooked on research and technology and thinking differently and breaking new grounds. And so I think am cool just like Indiana, because doing research, traveling the world exchanging ideas and teaching young mind, is pretty cool. So when feeling done, think about why you started your PhD. Because deep down, under the complaining and teeth grinding, we like what we are doing. Well, I do anyway…

Leave a Reply

